Preparing for “Madz et Al” 2014

The “Madz et Al” is a choral festival held yearly by the Philippine Madrigal Singers, and this year, it will take place on the first week of April at the Cultural Center of the Philippines. The name of the event is taken from their pet name, the Madz. Since our office choir has been coached by a alumna of the Madz, our choir qualifies to participate in this event.

“Choir” here, however, is no longer the office choir (Highstreet Harmony) that I’ve been involved in in the past year. This second group I’m in, the Orféon Singers, are composed of the most dedicated and motivated members of different groups.

My colleague (and incidentally, the Orfeón Singers’ assistant conductor) came up with the name so as it can be more “open”. Orfón is a Spanish term that refers to a group of a capella singers, or a choral society — an easy and fitting choice. The word was inspired they Greek mythological character, Orpheus — musician and singer extraordinaire.

Now this would be occupying a lot of my time outside of work. Aside from studying music by myself, I’ll have to make time for rehearsals outside of the office. Once again, I am in charge of costumes, and I will be applying what I have learned from previous experiences so as not to make my life stressful.

It feels great to be able to engage in a project like this, and to apply what I have learned so far in music class (even if it is very basic). I love singing in a group, and I look forward to the training and making new friends. 😀

I can already tell that this isn’t something I will ever forget.

About Cielo

I am a paper-pusher by day, a log by night, an aspiring singer-dancer and a wannabe artist in-between. I am also a Professional Space Cadet.
This entry was posted in Singing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

