Frame of mind: Stormy skies

Today, I’m taking on yesterday’s Daily Post prompt:

If you could paint your current mood onto a canvas, what would that painting look like? What would it depict?

It lead me to remember a painting I submitted to my high school’s art club: a girl sitting on the sand, looking over gray waters.  While it was the first image that came to mind, it felt incomplete.  I can’t paint right now, but the closest representation of my mood is the featured image above.

My heart feels gray and cloudy, but not necessarily cold and gloomy.  I’m going through some challenges right now, my mood matches the weather (seasonal affective tendencies notwithstanding).  There’s a storm somewhere, and I am affected.

My heart paints low lying clouds covering the blue sunny skies, but it leaves a space — some white, some light.  It reminds me that the storm and the clouds are only temporary, and that soon, the sun will shine again, and I will have clear and warm skies.

This image reminds me that in the same manner that blue skies can turn to gray, and that storm clouds can yield rainbows heralding sunlight, all things come to pass.  I just have to hang in there.

About Cielo

I am a paper-pusher by day, a log by night, an aspiring singer-dancer and a wannabe artist in-between. I am also a Professional Space Cadet.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frame of mind: Stormy skies

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Give Peace A Chance” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

