Letters and cats.

This Daily Post (that I decided to tackle at a later date) is reminiscent of a Plurk meme that I’ve done some time back:

Object Lesson
Sherlock Holmes had his pipe. Dorothy had her red shoes. Batman had his Batmobile. If we asked your friends what object they most immediately associate with you, what would they answer?

Funny thing is, you’d get two sets of answers.  My Plurk friends (people whom I’ve met through online roleplaying games) associate letters, lace, and anything elegant with me.  Perhaps it was due to how I behaved online, and that I loved writing letters.  In fact, I have exchanged a few letters and cards with some of these friends, and some have come to admire my handwriting.  Perhaps it was because I played characters who have some degree of elegance to them (Ribbons Almark, Sasha, and Frankenstein for instance), and that I was strongly associated to those characters.

My friends are quite spread out, but my closest ones associate me with cats, make-up, and (ta da!) anime.  It’s for good reason, though — I simply love cats, and there’s always a “commercial break” (as my brother puts it) whenever a cat passes by.  I’ll be rambling about something, then suddenly —

Little Tux Kitten Hiding from Big Kitty Read more at http://lovemeow.com/2011/09/little-tux-kitten-hiding-from-big-kitty/#w49OgtIpKrCyOlLw.99

KITTY 8D!! (Source: Amelia on Flickr)

My association to make-up was something I carried ever since I returned from France in 1998.  Soon as I learned how to wear eye liner and lipstick, I just could not stop.  As of today, I’ve gained enough skill that family and friends for tips and help.

As for anime… ah. 🙂  I can only smile fondly.  I have never lost my love for Japanese animated series and movies ever since I watched Candy Candy and Voltron when I was a wee one.

I realize as I write this is that the first set of things associated to me are what others perceive as unique to me.  The next three are the ones I happen to share with those friends — I too, can associate cats, make-up and anime with them.  Some things are more subtle, and are only known by closer friends; while there are those that are more obvious, but strong, that with someone sees that thing (stray cats, in particular), they think of me.

Come to think of it, being remembered for letters, lace, anything elegant, cats, make-up, and anime isn’t a bad way to go 😎 !

About Cielo

I am a paper-pusher by day, a log by night, an aspiring singer-dancer and a wannabe artist in-between. I am also a Professional Space Cadet.
This entry was posted in Things, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

