Catching up!

Last I wrote was when I resigned from my previous job, and in the two and a half months that followed, I’ve had to make a few adjustments. I think I’m now settling into a comfortable enough rhythm with regards to a longer commute, earlier (and more flexible) work schedule, and enjoying things that don’t require me to turn on a computer at home and go online.

Except when I blog, of course.

Speaking of computers and going online, I forgot to mention that Astraea, my ACER notebook of 5+ years, has decided to take a more permanent rest. It was a very sturdy machine, specially considering the days where it would be switched on for 12+ hours in a day. In the few months and weeks leading to that permanent sleep, it was already displaying severe lagging and I’ve had to take precautions in making backups in my external HDD and my Google Drives.

Today marks the sixth month in which I haven’t had a notebook and quite frankly, I haven’t had a real need for it. I purchased my notebook only because I started living outside the nest, I was a teacher and thus I had work at home, and I was also studying. Once the studying and teaching was over though, my notebook had become a thing of leisure.

But even that had to change.

I used to be very active online: blogging, deviantArt, roleplaying, and a bunch of social networking platforms. In those five years, my interests varied, while a good lot of them dwindled and a few I sought to remove from my life (roleplay, deviantArt, and soon, Facebook). Combine that with a conscious effort of taking care of my body better (eliminating migraines brought about by prolonged monitor exposure, improving my quality of sleep, taking care of my hands and overall not spending the day sitting my butt), I truly wasn’t in a hurry to replace Astraea.

It’s also part of an effort to declutter my life, and that includes my digital life. I realize that not all the shows I *ahem* collect I actually watch and enjoy. I no longer have a reason to stockpile videos because I don’t make icons for roleplay anymore. I don’t listen to all of the music I’ve ripped from my CDs, and I don’t enjoy reading novels on my computer screen. I don’t need programs and games installed in my notebook since… I don’t have a reason to do word processing at home (not one that demands anything beyond what Google Docs can do, anyway), nor do I play that many games (if at all!)

What replaced my time on a notebook is actually seeking out friends and family, and deliberately spending time with them. I’ve also (finally!) taken notice of my ever-growing to-read pile (also: book hoard) and as of the first quarter of 2015, I’ve read almost a dozen books (will talk about that some other time). I’ve also gone back to writing a journal in longhand, and maintaining a couple other notebooks that serve as my companions in my spiritual journey.

Of course, things might change again. While I’m not dying to get a new notebook, I’d welcome it, and I’m excited to apply simpler ways I might be able to use it. I honestly want to have the proper means to share my drawings again, and be more flexible in terms of connectivity and productivity (because there’s only so much smartphone apps can do!!)

Anyhow, I’ll be posting via email for a time, so please forgive the lack of fancy formatting and pictures X3;; I’ll do my best to learn more in the next months or so.

Until next time! xoxo

About Cielo

I am a paper-pusher by day, a log by night, an aspiring singer-dancer and a wannabe artist in-between. I am also a Professional Space Cadet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

