Jack of all trades, master of none.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Express Yourself!.”

Being praised as a “Jack of all trades” is nice; but what comes after, the “master of none”, was something that I eventually considered a curse. It was only lately that I have come to embrace this as an asset.

“A Whole New Mind”, by Daniel Pink

My first love I believed, for the longest time, was in the visual arts: drawing, painting. I dreamed of becoming an animator, a character designer, and even a clothes designer. While I did not end up with a career in the visual arts, I still practice doing makeup (enough for me to look good on camera! Haha!) and I have dabbled in some old-school web design (mostly for blogs). Nowadays, I enjoy the random snapshot and the occasional drawing/doodling.

My most accessible form of expression is in writing. I don’t need to lug around a sketchpad and my set of pencils to present a complete work. In the case my work computer has blocked blogs, I can always fire an email to myself (albeit, I just accumulated drafts 😛 ); or if I’m on the road, I just tap away at my smartphone (… and again, the same issue of accumulating drafts). I keep a journal, even if more often I just end up writing a gratitude list. I write haiku as captions for some of my pictures.

Lately, however, I have come to exercise my love of music, specially since I have come to join my church’s Music Ministry. I have reunited with my keyboards and took basic piano lessons last year. I’m looking into learning how to play the guitar, while I’m getting to know my singing voice better. Unlike drawing and writing in which I can create content, however, I have yet to have an inkling how to write songs. Expression for me in music is worship and prayer, and not of the self-edifying kind.

Apart from those, I know a bit of dancing — but not enough to say that I can freely express myself in it.

So to answer the prompt, I can say that writing would be my main form of expression. I enjoy whimsically wielding words, and it’s what comes easiest to me. I enjoy reading and listening to people’s stories. Also, at this point in my life, I will come to write more than ever, as I write stories about a group of people chasing after a dream and their fight against mediocrity to bring about excellence among their fellowmen.

An exciting chapter’s coming, and I’m glad to have writing as a tool at my disposal. My love of drawing has allowed me to conjure images in my mind to give flesh to my words, while my love of music enables me to find a sense of rhythm and poetry to my pieces.

I am happy to be a “Jack of all trades”, as it allows me to look at things from a multi-faceted perspective, and thus it serves as a means for me to be a more effective and expressive person. And who knows? “Master of none” is always a springboard for “master of some”, or “master of many.”

About Cielo

I am a paper-pusher by day, a log by night, an aspiring singer-dancer and a wannabe artist in-between. I am also a Professional Space Cadet.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jack of all trades, master of none.

  1. Gab Lopez says:

    Considering that the original saying was “Jack of all trades, master of none, Though oftentimes better than master of one”, I think you’re on the right track. 🙂 Follow your bliss! Life’s too short to box yourself into one thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

